All I want for Christmas is…Time

My In-Laws recently asked me what I wanted for Christmas and, as usual, I said ‘hmm I don’t know let me think about it,’ and changed the subject.  Not because I didn’t want anything, but because I honestly had spent the last month thinking about Talia’s gifts and Corey’s gifts for the holidays and his birthday (double whammy!) so I hadn’t given it any thought.  A few days later Corey asked me again, “my parents were wondering what you want for Christmas” and after some thought I had the answer: Time.  Sure I could always use a gift certificate to Anthropologie, a new set of earrings or the latest accessory for my iPhone, but what I really wanted was some quality time for myself and with my husband.

For those of you who don’t know, we live in Michigan with a great number of friends but our families are miles away.  Corey’s parents live in Florida and mine in Illinois which didn’t seem to be a big deal until little Talia came along and now we better understand why people live close to family.  For example, when we hear other couples say, “we dropped our son off at Grandma and Grandpa’s for the night,” or “our daughter is spending the weekend with the Grandparents while we go away to a wedding or on a trip,” we can’t help but feel a little jealous.  Partly because they get to take a little break from the day-to-day routine with a toddler, but mostly that they have someone they know and trust that they can leave their kids who aren’t on the clock and will play with them, love them and keep them just as safe as we would.  Of course there are great baby-sitters out there and we have a few on call in times of need, but I think you would agree with me it’s just different.

So my wish is for time – and my husband seemed pretty surprised by this answer but quickly agreed that some alone time for me and some date nights for us would be a good thing.  Often our priority list is our daughter Talia, our business eBoot Camp and then ourselves/our relationship – not the best way to prioritize our life, but these things happen when you have kids and a business to run. 🙂  During the next few months while we are in Florida and family is close by, we plan to take sometime for ourselves.

For the first time in months, we had a great date night last weekend and it was great spending time together and having conversations that were outside toddler tantrums and work stuff.  Later this week, amidst all the holiday madness, we have a Sunset Cruise planned (thanks Uncle Jaime!) and some time set aside a few mornings for the grandparents (Poppo and Maimo) to watch Talia so I can get some solid work done on the business or take in a pilates class at the gym.  The best part about having this time, is knowing that while we are away, Talia is in good hands being showered with love and getting her own little break from Mama and Dada which I’m sure sometimes she needs too.

2 thoughts on “All I want for Christmas is…Time

  1. This post really resonated with me, Dukes. We were in the “toddler without family” boat with Karen’s family in Chicago and mine in Nashville, TN, with great friends (some of whom acted like family, loving Joslyn nearly like we do). But few opportunities to just drop off the kid(s) and go out to a date, night, weekend without inconveniencing someone or paying big bucks for our own benefit. Then we procured Karen’s sister, Jenn, who moved here for work… shortly thereafter followed by another child! I’m not sure what the answer is for us, but it was good to read your post and realize we’re not alone with family far away. Enjoy taking advantage of your Christmas gift! Happy holidays!!

    • Dave! Thank you for your amazing heartfelt comment – It is so nice to know that we are not alone in this struggle – I guess we just need to bribe a family member to move near us too! I will let you know if we come up with the magical solution for gaining more time in our lives. All the best to you and your family in this new year!

Thoughts, Comments and Suggestions Welcome!

